Primary tabs

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), previously known as the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), is a federal agency within the United States Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) that administers the Medicare program and works in partnership with state governments to administer Medicaid, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and health insurance portability standards.

Other Access

The information on this page (the dataset metadata) is also available in these formats.


via the DKAN API

Clinical Episode-Based Payment - State

The 6 Clinical Episode-Based Payment (CEBP) Measures (Conditions: Cellulitis, Kidney/Urinary Tract Infection, Gastrointestinal Hemorrhage; Procedures: Aortic Aneurysm, Spinal Fusion, Cholecystectomy and Common Duct Exploration) show whether Medicare spends more, less, or about the same on an episode of care for a Medicare patient treated in a specific inpatient hospital compared to how much Medicare spends on an episode of care for the respective condition or procedure across all inpatient hospitals nationally. This measure takes into account important factors like patient age and health status (risk adjustment) and geographic payment differences (payment-standardization).

Release Date
Homepage URL
Contact Name
Hospital Compare
Public Access Level
Bureau Code
009:38 - Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Program Code
009:000 - Department of Health and Human Services - (Primary Program Not Available)
Harvested from
Harvest Source
Harvest Source URI
Last Harvest PerformedFri, 12/13/2019 - 02:48
Hospital Compare